The Saskatchewan Assessment Appraisers’ Association (SAAA) is the organization of trained professionals that are qualified to apply expertise in the mass valuation of property for ad valorem taxation purposes in Saskatchewan. The SAAA was established as a self-governing regulated profession under The Assessment Appraisers Act in November 2002. Saskatchewan assessors and assessment appraisers have a proud history that began more than 70 years ago with a view to improving standards, developing better techniques and disseminating useful information to its members.

The SAAA is an association that focuses on professionals who have an interest in property assessment valuation. A significant number of our members are practicing assessment appraisers who contribute their expertise in the valuation of property for taxation purposes in Saskatchewan. The Association also provides related products and services to our members, the public and Saskatchewan municipalities.

Between 1960 and 1969 there were two separate associations, provincial agricultural valuers known at that time as the Municipal Assessment Officer’s Association (MAOA) and the Saskatchewan Assessors’ Association, which comprised all members of the MAOA, most of the city assessors and/or city clerks, some town assessors, representatives of assessment branches from the neighboring provinces and the Canadian and western tax representatives of companies such as Trans-Canada Pipelines, CPR, CNR and major oil companies.

The two associations held meetings together starting in 1961, with the MAOA at the beginning of the week and the SAA at the end of the week. By 1970, only the SAA remained.

The first organization was the Saskatchewan Professional Property Valuators’ Association, which was formed in 1939 and lasted until the separate MAOA and SAA were formed in 1960.

Our Past Presidents

Saskatchewan Assessment Appraisers’ Association

2024 Bryce Trew

2023 Bryce Trew

2021 Chandra Reilly

2019 Susan Quiring

2017 Chandra Reilly

2015 Brandon Danielson

2008 Darwin Kanius

2007 Robert Schultze

2006 Mike Schulkowsky

2004 Jim Zemluk

2003 Joe Day

Saskatchewan Assessors’ Association

2002 Joe Day

2001 Darwin Kanius

2000 Kirby Fesser

1999 Hugh Morrison

1998 William Pfeifer

1996 Norman Magnin

1995 Todd Treslan

1994 Cameron Duncan

1993 Al Bishoff

1992 Gerry Krismer

1991 Sunil Sood

1990 Brad Korbo

1989 Guy Mumford

1988 Bob Edwards

1987 Brian Lynch

1986 Leonard Kobelsky

1985 Darwin Kanius

1984 John Smysniuk

1983 Barb Arnold

1982 Wray Breadner

1981 Wade Armstrong

1980 Jim Misfeldt

1979 Shirley Zharik

1978 Tom Gordon

1977 Archie Fieldgate

1976 Kurt Sawtsky

1975 Frank Robb

1974 Jay Lorman

1973 Gord Krismer

1972 Jim Misfeldt

1971 T. Turner

1970 Harry Gullett

1969 Don Lambie

1968 D.D.I. Hendry

1967 Nick Rudrick

1966 William J. Rintoul

1965 A. Larry Aitken

1964 Austin MacNab

1963 William Thompson

1960 Ian C. Collins

Municipal Assessment Officers’ Association

1969 Fred Silzer

1968 Ed Banford

1967 Jim Misfeldt

1966 Don Lambie

1965 Jack Quick

1964 N.M. Rudrick

1963 Ross Richards

1962 A.L. Aitken

1961 A.L. Aitken

1960 H.E. Gullett

The Saskatchewan Professional Property Valuator’s Association

1959 A.C Treble

1958 A.C Treble

1957 L.D. Brown

1956 C.R. Richards

1955 A.C Treble

1954 H.B. Millions

1953 L.D. Brown

1952 W.E. Thompson

1951 T.H. Freeman

1950 L.D. Brown

1942 J.W. Houston

1941 George Andrew

1939 Mike Kushnir